“F.I.T.S.” SERIES: Featuring DD, an Addicted-to-Heroin Freelancer

Today I had the honor of being the subject of an article that addressed how I managed my professional career and personal life while being addicted to heroin. For those of you who don’t know, I’m a copywriter by trade. the “F.I.T.S.” series, produced by Lorraine Reguly, regularly spotlights a different noteworthy freelance writers. She was kind enough to leave out my real name in case of any professional prejudice that might be extended my way. I was very honored to be approached by her and extremely thankful for her open mindedness. She was able to see past the stigma and treat me with the same respect and regard as any other freelance writer she’s interviewed. It was a pleasure to do this interview with her. In general, I think it’s very refreshing to have someone who is an active IV drug using addict have a chance to tell their story while still being recognized as a professional who can achieve success. I am very honored that I was able to fill that role. In full disclosure, I did this interview before the death of my dearly departed. A lot has changed since that incident and I am now on Methadone maintenance to prevent myself from an inevitable downward spiral of despair and escalated drug use. Lorraine knows this, but I’m happy that she chose to publish the article as it was originally written. Life changes and we have to make life choices that ebb and flow with our circumstances. No one’s life stays stagnant forever.

I hope you enjoy reading the article as much as I enjoyed the interview itself.  Please let me know if you have any questions! When you’re finished, go back through the archives and take a look at some of the other past freelance writers Lorraine has featured. It’s a very diverse and interesting group of people!

So without further adu…. I present Lorraine Reguly’s “F.I.T.S.” SERIES: Featuring DD, an Addicted-to-Heroin Freelancer

“Today’s post is an extra-special instalment of the F.I.T.S. (Freelancer In The Spotlight) Series on Wording Well, and the “Freelancer In The Spotlight” today is DD, who is addicted to heroin. (Hey, some freelancers have posed nude, so don’t judge…)

Rather than have her write the post in the same style of past FITS posts, I decided to ask her a few questions.

First, let’s meet DD.

Who is DD?
DD is short for Deemster Diva. She’s probably the most productive drug addict I know… not that I know that many… anymore…

DD is on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Google+. She also blogs at Heroin Is My Heroin. DD is not her real name. I know what it is, but out of respect for her, I am not going to reveal it.

We will simply know her as DD.

I’ve had many conversations with her via email, and I don’t judge her for the drugs she chooses to do. She’s still a person, and she’s a freelancer, too.

Kinda makes for an interesting scenario, don’tcha think?” CLICK THE LINK BELOW TO READ THE FULL ARTICLE>>>>

“F.I.T.S.” SERIES: Featuring DD, an Addicted-to-Heroin Freelancer

 

 

One thought on ““F.I.T.S.” SERIES: Featuring DD, an Addicted-to-Heroin Freelancer

  1. It’s cool that you are sharing this with your readers here, DD.

    I’d like to make a suggestion regarding your sharing buttons, though. Your current ones don’t work on Chrome browsers, but if you go to Settings>Sharing and then choose the button option ICON ONLY, they will play nice with browsers such as mine, enabling more shares of your posts!

    Thanks again for being part of the FITS series on Wording Well! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

