Twitter Instigator

I recently posted on Twitter, “No two drug users are alike. Judging someone based on the #drugs they put in their body is not only hurtful, but usually inaccurate. #heroin” Someone posted back, “I missed all the blogs, news reports and science where people who use heroin actually better their lives”

Okay, there is so much wrong with that statement I didn’t even know where to begin addressing it, much less within the confines of 140 characters. But that was just my point – Does he really believe that no single junky in the world can better their life in anyway if they use heroin? Yes, I think he really does believe that. Of course sensationalist news stories aren’t going to write up the good aspects of a heroin users life. How boring would that be?? Here’s mine for today

“Breaking News! Junky talks to her family today and gives her dog a bath! She wrapped up some writing assignments for two clients successfully completed her billing. She’s happy to report she was hired to be a contributing writer for two new technology blogs today and has two interviews next week for two more long-term freelance gigs. She’s excited her career is going in a good direction. She happy to report she’s emotionally in the best head spaces she’s been in for years. She’s making lots of headway with her therapist in letting go of old pain. And this weekend she’s catching up with an old friend she hasn’t seen in years. She can’t wait to go see The Book of Mormon theater production playing in Los Angeles tomorrow with her boyfriend. But most of all, this junk can’t wait for a long summer touring with her favorite band Phish and hopefully visiting her family.

Not very news worthy, huh? So, you’re right Mr. Douche Bag. You did miss all those reports because the news would rather pick up a speculation that someone who for some reason walked a red carpet one time although nobody knows who the fuck she is or what she ever did, might have had heroin in their system at the time of her death and make her out to be the biggest tragedy since the last some-name person was found with heroin in the system at death. Another media shark-feeding frenzy to induce public hysteria and use as a scapegoat to say “Hey! Look! Heroin is evil, we told you so! We were right all the time! it killed this beautiful, precious, most wonderful, beloved, tragic (wait, who is she?) Never mind, never mind that, she probably gave it to your children before she died and now they’re all going to get AIDS and give it to each other when they start fucking and sharing needles at the age of ten, robbing liquor stores to get money for more heroin because she only gave them one shot and now they’re addicted and shooting each other up with AIDS right now, because that’s what heroin addicts do, didn’t you know??”

I composed a couple of responses, but wound up deleting them both. Opting instead to not sink to his level and engage the instigator. But what would you do? Should I respond? If so, how? Do my readers have any thoughts on the subject?

5 thoughts on “Twitter Instigator

  1. Also, I want to make clear… I’ve definitely use heroin as an escape. For a notable percentage of my years using I’ve found myself hiding my life behind heroin and avoiding reality. I’ve lived the life of the stereotypical junky, But the majority of the years I’ve used, with the help of my therapist, family and friends, have been able to also live the life I want. So I get both sides

    Like

  2. Thank you for that comment. That last thing I would want is for anyone to read my blog and think, “Oh heroin, I can use that for productivity? Yeah!” Because in many, many, fuck it… most cases it does not serve that purpose. To avoid the pitfalls of opiate apathy, it’s not only difficult, it’s impossible for some. And that’s the reason I say “get to know us” because the outcome for one isn’t the outcome for another. I’ve had to struggle through opiate apathy, and I’ve been able to use it in my favor. So I understand both sides.

    No matter which way you choose to use it, or what benefit you get from the drug, we’re all individuals, and I think all our stories are unique. Maybe some might have similarities, but to lump us all together would be like lumping anyone who drank together.

    Thank you very much. I appreciate your comment.

    Like

  3. I read this and a few other posts including the “Love a Junkie day”. To the Puritan , I can see them labeling you overly defensive. As a son of “junky” and seeing the “reason” for him using probably wasn’t one of as you put it, to increase productivity. His was to escape. Choosing to use to enhance lifestyle versus escape is what I take from your blog. I also have “junkie” friends whom I’ve seen function in society but also a number of them have fallen deep into the hole , struggling to regain their functionality in society. As a parent, as a spouse, as a friend, I am not here to judge others that use but, seeing the damage done to those junkies I do love, I couldn’t see how I could ever recommend a “pickmeup” in the form of using. Thank you for your transparency . I do enjoy your posts. Peace

    Like

  4. Yeah, I totally agree. I’ve regularly used opiates to enhance my productivity. Of course, when I started using meth again, the opiates were retired of that responsibility. But when I first realized I was addicted to opiates, it was when I noticed I had been taken them daily to help with work. It wasn’t to stave off sickness at that point, it was before I even knew what true dope sickness was. I just realized that before I had to buckle down and start any project at work, it helped my focus a great deal if I took mild amounts of opiates first. I was able to stay lazer focused and not get distracted. And I had been doing that months. It’s easy to let them have the opposite affect as well. But it all has to do with you intention for taking them.

    Like

  5. Productive lives on morphine/heroin/opiates, in some cases productive and successful because of their opiate use: Thomas De Quincey, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Charles Baudelaire, William Wilberforce (anti-slavery politician), William Halsted (a founder of Johns Hopkins), Herman Goering, William S Burroughs…. There’d be a lot more 20th century people on such a list if consequences of prohibition hadn’t destroyed so many lives before the drugs even had a chance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

